Meet Dumplin', a New Hope Cattle Dog Available For Adoption


 Meet Dumplin'


Hi, my name is Dumplin and I am around 4-5 years old.  I came from Amarillo, Texas in January where I had already been spayed and house broken. I have been living with my foster family ever since.  They (my foster family) have very little information about my previous life but believe that I used to sleep on the couch. They sort of frown on sleeping on the couch so my second best place to sleep is in my kennel or in the laundry room, sort of out of the way from the four kids I have been living with. I love the kids (all ages) but sometimes I need some quiet timeI am good when left alone inside the house when my owners leave. I don’t get on the couch after they trained me to stay off. I love to be petted, and petted, and petted…..


I still need work on walking on the leash as I get a bit distracted by other dogs. I do need my walks as someone in Texas probably fed me a little too much food. I tend to resemble a plump “Dumplin” but I am working on getting my weight down. Spending time in the yard is at the top of my favorite things to do. I love chasing the squirrels running back and forth on my fence. I am well behaved and know how to sit and lay down. I don’t bark often other than to let those pesky squirrels know I see them. I really do need to be an only dog in the house. I am reactive towards other dogs and would like to be queen bee and the center of attention.  I have not met any cats so I may need to figure that one out.

Gender: Female
Weight: 42 lbs
Cats: Unknown; testing in progress
Kids: Good with all
Other Dogs: I would prefer to be an only dog.

New Hope Cattle Dogs Rescue vets all puppies and dogs to include:

  • spay/neuter
  • vaccinations ((rabies, distemper, bordatella)
  • de-worm
  • heartworm check (if appropriate)
  • microchip

Dogs come with a crate, collar, leash, food, bowls, and vet records. The crate is returned upon completion of the trial adoption.